It was the best of times, it was the worst of times…

Cover of "Shadowfever"

Cover of Shadowfever

Oh God, I’m depressed. 

So utterly depressed, Internet. 

Why are you depressed, Ali? You ask.

I’ll tell you, Internet.  I’m depressed because I finished Shadowfever by Karen Marie Moning.  Perhaps you feel this is not a proper reason for me to be depressed.  If you feel this way I must assume you have not read Shadowfever and therefore you should not express an opinion on the matter.  I assure you, this is plenty of reason to be sufficiently depressed. 

I loved this book.  Like I love s’mores.  And Thirty Seconds to Mars.  And Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  So you see?  Now that I’m finished?  Depression city.   

I’m quite certain I will never love a book again as much as I loved these books.  All hope is lost.  I doubt I’ll ever crack another book’s cover because I’m eleventy bonkzillion percent positive that I cannot heart it as much as I heart the Fever Series.  Gah, my soul weeps just thinking about it.

Has this ever happened to you?  Have you ever read a book that you just freaking adored and you don’t think it’s possible you’ll ever find another book that you adore even ten percent as much?  I feel your pain, my peeps. 

No, I’m sorry.  That was just wrong.  My peeps?  WTF? 

See?  See what the depression does?  It forces me to use idioms I should never try and use. 

I’m probably never going to recover.

Leave a Reply

